Planning ahead

15 Aug

I am a slow reader. I’d like to think myself more well-read than I actually am. The fact that my husband can hold his hand over a book and know its contents, does not help my predicament at all. Ok, not really that fast, but pretty darn close.  I have stacks of his recommendations and piles of my own books filling the nooks and crannies of our house, waiting for patiently for me.

Then comes January.

If you’ve attended Boskone <enter the wistful tone in my voice and longing in my eyes here>,  you know that it’s a literary convention where people talk about authors and books and writing. I’ve slacked on my writing for so long that I only feel the slightest twinge of guilt about those unfinished works in progress in notebooks, napkins and Google Docs. But January is crunch time for reading. I start to scan the lists for what to read before the Boskone participant lists are posted.

But this year, it’s going to be different.

No, really. I mean it.

I’ve created a new rule: I must read at least one book by the Guest of Honor; Boskone 49‘s is John Scalzi. This rule applies to my whole family since we all attend, so we’re all reading the Old Man’s War series. Unfortunately for me, both my husband and my son have a head start.   My husband’s already done; my son is on book 2 and I’m still wrapping up S.M. Stirling’s The High King of Montival, so I’m woefully behind. But I will have it reads by February, along with a few other titles.

I’m throwing down the gauntlet. What are you planning on reading before Boskone?

Leave a comment